Derminator

Please only post questions when you could not find the answer searching this forum or our instructions. Pre-and post-sales questions about our products only. Thank you!

Author Topic: Dermarolling around the eyes  (Read 26744 times)

SarahVaughter

• www.owndoc.com
  • Administrator
  • Medical journalist
Dermarolling around the eyes
« on: January 20, 2010, 10:42:50 AM »
Can I use a 1.5 mm roller around the eyes?

Yes, if you are experienced in dermarolling.

I personally wouldn't recommend a complete beginner to use 1.5 mm long needles on thin skin around the eyes. I would prefer to stay on the safe side. Safer is 1.0 mm or even 0.5 mm. Before you start around your eyes, definitely try the dermaroller on a safer part of your body so that you get used to it and get the hang of it.

When you put your finger under your eye, you'll feel a bone. Do not roll closer to your eye than where that bone is. Pull/stretch your skin downwards from the eye with your other hand and roll it with the other.   

Please read my posting (mine is #2):   
https://http://forums.owndoc.com/dermarolling-microneedling/can-i-use-a-dermaroller-on-this-area-under-the-eye-(pic-included)/

The best for wrinkles and crepey skin is to use a 0.2 mm dermaroller for skin product penetration. Dermarollers  shorter than 0.5 mm do not trigger collagen because they do not reach the dermis but it significantly enhances the penetration of skin products into the skin. In that case, you can use any of your skin products, even a product with anti-inflammatory ingredients because 0.2 needles don't cause the inflammation that triggers collagen production. You need longer needles for that.

A 0.2 mm  dermaroller is extremely useful though because it will make your skin product "sink" deep into your skin where it is needed.

Don't forget to thoroughly clean the dermaroller with dishwashing liquid every time and soak it in disinfection alcohol every now and then.