Derminator

Please only post questions when you could not find the answer searching this forum or our instructions. Pre-and post-sales questions about our products only. Thank you!

Author Topic: Newbie - very deep stretch marks  (Read 8396 times)

alladila

Newbie - very deep stretch marks
« on: November 24, 2011, 05:25:19 AM »
Hi Sarah,

What a great site you have here! I am new to needling and haven't yet made any purchases, so am wondering if you would be able to point me in the right direction as to which products I would find necessary for what I want to treat.

I am 26 and had a baby 2 years ago. In the last month of pregnancy I developed a rash which even the dermatologist was unable to completely explain, but was prescribed a steroid cream as the rash completely covered the front of my torso and was unbearable. Anyway, as a result, I developed extremely deep stretch marks all over my stomach from above my bellybutton to right above the pubic region, side to side. I have included a photo so you can see the extent of it. It's not very clear, but you can see how wide they are and I can assure you they are deep!

Any advice as to which products (including needles) would best suit?

Thank you!

SarahVaughter

• www.owndoc.com
  • Administrator
  • Medical journalist
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2011, 10:33:28 AM »
Corticoids are well known for causing wide and deep stretch marks. You would have probably developed stretch marks anyway as a result of your pregnancy (about 90 percent of women develop stretch marks during pregnancy) but corticoids likely aggravated the depth and width of your stretch marks. Corticoids weaken the connective tissue in the skin and make the skin vulnerable when stretched.