Derminator

Please only post questions when you could not find the answer searching this forum or our instructions. Pre-and post-sales questions about our products only. Thank you!

Author Topic: Frontal Fibrosing Alopecia  (Read 8824 times)

SarahVaughter

• www.owndoc.com
  • Administrator
  • Medical journalist
Frontal Fibrosing Alopecia
« on: June 04, 2012, 08:29:39 AM »
From Kalea:

NEWBIE HERE. i'm trying to figure out how to post a message but have not figured it out yet so i thought i'd just jump in here cause wow, MY skin sure is starting to fall apart. some of it i suppose i should just accept: i will be 60 on july 3. however, four months ago i was diagnosed with frontal fibrosing alopecia: there is a distinct pattern to it: everyone who has it loses their hair up to the midline of thehead. i am very fortunate that i have curly hairl. my hairdresser has been able to style my hair so that the remaining layer of it, not too thin or bad looking, cover what is happening underneath. i am still, natrually, devastated that this is happening. i am now taking Plaquenil for inflammation (i do have total systemic inflammation, inflammatory autoimmune disease....i'm doing all i can do to address the whole package...)but the disease keeps progressing. i have a custom made wig on its way soon.....i just hope my hairdresser can style it to look like my hairstyle just a bit.......oh how i wish i wasn't having to deal with this. it is just one of several autoimmune diseases i have. and now it looks like i might have vitiligo....i've been noticing for several years that on both arms there are noticeable white spots...what looks like a loss of color on the skin. now i see it has progressed....it is going on all over my arms. not very noticeable as i am fairskinned, but still you can see what is happening.